This article is relevant to users on the Pro, Extend, and Enterprise plans.

  • Workspace Manager (Administrator)
  • Finance Manager
  • Department Manager
  • Authors (Create, Enroll)
  • Facilitators (Teach, Enroll)
  • Learners (Managed within Course Groups)

Note: Depending on your Member role, and/or assigned permissions, you may not be able to see any or all parts of some or all of the screens below. For example, if you don’t have the permission to ‘Invite’ Members, you won’t be able to see this option on a number of screens. Regardless, the information below should help expound what you can and can’t do with your current permissions.

New Team Members can be easily added and managed via the Manage > Team screen, where you can also easily assign roles to existing Members:

As a Workspace or Department Manager, you can also invite a team member to collaborate on a specific module, and then restrict access to authoring on only this module (below). Simply “Add Team Members” to the Department containing your Course content,  and then select them to assign Edit, Enroll, or Teach permissions (on a specific module):

From the same screen you can also assign Manage, Create, Enroll, and Teach permissions across the entire Department (more about that below).  

To start managing your Team, go to the 'Manage' tab and then 'Team'.

 Workspace Managers

The Workspace Manager has full control of all aspects of the account. To add a new Workspace Manager, select the ‘+’ button:

You can then select from existing Members, or invite new Members to your Workspace by using the ‘+’ button (top right, below):

Existing Members who are checked in this list will be granted “Workspace Manager” permissions after selecting the ‘Add Workspace Managers’ button. Members who are invited via the ‘Add more Members’ function will be become Workspace Managers after creating their accounts. To cancel the action, select the “X” button.

Finance Managers

Finance Managers have access to payment options, and are sent all correspondence regarding billing and payments. This useful for larger organisations where the accounts team don’t need to be involved in the platform, and/or where the Workspace Managers don’t need to be involved with billing and payments.

To add a new Finance Manager, select the ‘Add Finance Managers’ button, and then follow the same steps as above.

Department Managers

Adding a Member as Department Manager grants them administrative permissions to all entities under this Department, including authoring of all content within the Department.

To add Department Manager, first select ‘Add Team Members’ from within the Department you would like to add them to:

Next, select the “Manage” permission (the Create and Enroll Permissions will be selected by default):

You can then select from existing Members, or invite new Members to your Workspace by using the ‘Add more Members’ button (top right, above). Existing Members who are checked in this list will be granted “Department Manager” permissions after selecting the ‘Add Department Managers’ button. Members who are invited via the ‘Add more Members’ function will be become Departments Managers after creating their accounts. To cancel the action, select the “X” button.

Authors / Facilitators

To add collaborating Authors to your account (without the ‘Manager’ permission), there are number of options. Simply follow the same steps for adding a Department Manager (above) and then select one of the other 3 permissions available. Each option grants permissions to do different things within the selected Department:

Create: This allows the Member to create new Courses, Lessons and Quizzes, within the Department, however, author rights are not granted on any other Courses under the Department, unless explicitly given (i.e. they can make new Courses, but can’t make changes to anyone else’s material unless someone has asked them to).

Enroll: Allows the Member to enroll new Members and facilitators to access this content and remove them.

Teach: Allows the Member to ‘teach’ content within the Department (i.e. a ‘Facilitator’). Enrolled members’ (aka Participant) answers will be visible and can be graded, and Facilitators may also preview the content themselves.

Course Permissions

As described at the top of this FAQ, Team members can also be invited to collaborate on a specific module, with access restricted to authoring on only this module (as one example), but there are several other options available. Once a Member has been added to a Department (with any permission) you can select them and then apply any number of Course Permissions….

After selecting a Member, to locate the content you would like to grant or modify permissions on, select the Department from the drop down menu:

Next select the permission that you would like to apply:

Edit: Allows the selected Member to modify the course description and settings and to add and remove modules from the course. Note – this does not allow the member to modify, publish the modules themselves - for that you will need to add a permission on the resources you want to give access to.

Enroll: Allow the selected Member to enroll new groups of members to access this content and remove them. Note: this does not allow the member to modify the enrollments of existing groups within the course

Teach: Allow this member to teach this content. Enrolled members’ answers will be visible and can be graded, and teachers may also preview the content themselves.

Module Permissions

Module permissions can also be assigned a singular ‘Edit’ permission from within the Department’s Courses, Lessons, Quizzes or Assignments tabs.

Granting this permission allows this member to change this resource, including modifying all the resource’s content and publishing or reverting changes.

Invite Permission

Lastly, there’s also a special ‘Invite’ permission that can be granted to members who aren’t Workspace Managers…

Proceed with caution: granting this permission allows the selected Member to Invite new people to your Workspace, which will will affect the total number of Active Members in your Workspace.

All Members

Under the Members options, you’ll see an “All Members” tab. From this screen you can see every Member within your account (including Participants and Non-Active Members). From this screen you can:

  • see when each Member last logged in
  • “Add Members” (using the button top right). Note: an invitation won’t be sent to the Members until they are granted a permission within Department, or enrolled as a Participant within a Course
  • Deactivate Members that should no longer be able to access your Workspace
  • Resend Invitations (to Members who have an email address, but have not yet activated their account after being granted a permission)

Note: “All Members” is not reflective of Active Members, which can be viewed at all times under the Active Members Report:

For information about Active Members please check out the Active Members article.

As you can see Coassemble LMS has a flexible but powerful permissions structure that allows you to configure an array of possible roles within your Workspace or Organisation. If you need help getting setup, please give the support team a shout.

Did this answer your question?