⚠️ Please read the article on Role-based and advanced permissions first, as it explains what the different roles are.

There is a range of specific use cases we have put together to help you set up your trainer's permissions including:

  1. I want my trainer to have the same permissions as me

  2. I want my trainer to have the same permissions as me but not be able to change my workspace configurations

  3. I want my trainer to ONLY be able to create content

  4. I want my trainer to be able to track their own group's progress

  5. I want my trainer to be able to track their own group's progress AND enroll learners in their group.

  6. I want my trainer to be able to track their own group's progress AND be able to invite new learners to their group but NOT be able to see other groups/learners

1. I want my trainer to have the same permissions as me

From the Users page, give them the pre-defined Administrator role.

2. I want my trainer to have the same permissions as me, but not be able to change my workspace configurations

From the Users page, give them the pre-defined Manager role.

They will have all the same rights as you (including the permission to invite new learners/trainers), minus the Configure permission (branding, integrations, workspace settings and workspace notifications).

3. I want my trainer to ONLY be able to create content

  • If you want them to be able to create/edit any course in your workspace:
    From the Users page, give them the pre-defined Creator role.

  • If you want them to create/edit only specific courses in your workspace:
    From the Users page, give them resource folder-level permission to Create (advanced permissions). Prior to doing that, just make sure to organize your courses into resource folders (check this article to learn more about Resource folders and the resource library).

  • If you want them to be able to create/edit only one course in your workspace:
    From the Users page, give them resource-level permission to Create (advanced permissions).

4. I want my trainer to be able to track their own group's progress

From the Enrollment tab of a course, add them as a Facilitator to their group. By default, the Teach permission is checked, which means the trainer will be able to manage their group under the Enrollment tab (change settings), and see reporting for their group under the Reports tab, but not other groups.

Online training platform settings

5. I want my trainer to be able to track their own group's progress AND be able to enroll learners in their group

From the Enrollment tab of a course, add them as a Facilitator to their group. Then, check the Enroll permission box. This means they will be able to enroll learners that already exist in this workspace to their group (not brand new learners).

⚠️ Giving enroll permission means that this trainer can see all the learners in the workspace when accessing the Users page, which you do not want in this situation.

6. I want my trainer to be able to track their own group's progress AND be able to invite new learners to their group but NOT be able to see other groups/learners

From the Enrollment tab of a course, add them as a Facilitator to their group (do NOT check the Enroll permission box). From the Users page, create an enrollment link for that group, which you can share with that trainer. Anyone that trainers share the link with will be able to enroll in that group by themselves!

Check out this article for more information on how enrollment links work.

Did this answer your question?