This article is relevant to users on the Pro, Extend, and Enterprise plans

Whether you enrol learners directly into a course, or via a group will vary depending on a number of factors including; the size of your organization, the number of users you are training, and how many courses you have.

So what are groups? 

Groups are used to group together learners. This is useful if you have a group of learners who will all be studying the same courses. For example, you may have 50 sales staff who need to take the Sales 101, Sales 102, and Sales 103 courses. Instead of enrolling each learner into the courses individually, you simply enroll the group into the 3 courses, then add all 50 learners to the group. 

Another reason for using groups is that you can vary the group settings for each course. For example, you may have a group of learners from Los Angeles, and another group in New York. By setting up 2 groups for each, you can set specific start and end dates for each group, including a specific timezone that best suits where they reside. 

If groups are so great, why wouldn't I use them? 

There are a few reasons you may not want to use groups.

Firstly, for many organizations the complexity of groups just isn't required. If you've only got a handful of learners and just a few courses, enrolling your learners directly into a course just makes sense. 

Secondly, you may have a learner that you need to treat differently than others—they may only need to take one course. In this case, adding the learner to a group before enrolling them into a course is an additional step that just isn't required.

How do I enroll learners directly into a course?

You can enroll your a learner directly into a course by clicking the plus button next to the courses label. 

This will pop up a new window where you can select the course or courses you want to enrol your learner into. Choose the course from the list of options. If you have lots of courses, use the search box to locate your course. 

Click 'Confirm' to confirm your choice. 

Now that your learner has been enrolled, they will receive an email notifying them that they can start the course.

The enrollments tab inside a course looks different?

If you do choose to enroll learners directly into courses, you'll notice the next time you go to edit your course, that these learners are listed above groups. Just like groups, you will be able to add new learners to the course, however, you will not be able to add individual facilitators, or give the course a start and end date. 

What settings are available for groups? 

Settings for courses are simpler than for groups, with timezone, and course start & end dates being excluded. You can still use the advanced modules settings and adjust settings specifically for individual learners. 

Learner profile

From the learners profile course enrollments are represented differently if they've been enrolled via a group. In the image below the leaner has been enrolled into the first course 'Getting Started with Coassemble' via the group 'LA'. For the second course 'Marketing with infographics', the learner has been enrolled directly into the course. 



Did this answer your question?