This article is relevant for users on all plans

Coassemble provides it's users a number of pre-defined roles that can be applied to users, in addition to a more advanced permissions system for users looking for something a little more granular. 

Role-based permissions

There are 4 pre-defined roles that can be applied to your users in Coassemble. These roles are:

  1. Creator
  2. Facilitator
  3. Manager
  4. Administrator

Each of these roles is created by grouping a number of workspace permissions. The table below lists each role, with the associated permission on the workspace.

Permission definitions:

  • Share allows a user to share any resource in the workspace
  • Create allows a user to create, edit, publish courses and resource on the workspace
  • Teach allows a user to view and grade all results on the workspace
  • Enrol allows a user to add existing learners to courses and groups
  • Invite allows a user to invite new learners to the workspace. Note, this user cannot invite new trainers
  • Configure allows a user to configure everything in the workspace, including; branding, integrations, workspace settings and workspace notifications. Additionally, this permission is the only permission that will allows a user to invite & manage trainers

Applying roles to trainers

Each time you create a new trainer, you'll be asked to apply a role to that trainer. To create a new trainer, navigate to the users page, and select the 'Trainers' tab. Once you're on the trainers tab, click the 'Create trainer' button.

This will pop-up a new window asking you to type the email address of the trainer you want to add. If you want to add multiple trainers, you can copy paste as many email addresses into the box as you like. Once you're done, click the 'Next' button. 

Now you need to choose a specific role for your new trainer(s). Click the 'Create trainer' button when you're done. 

You new trainers will appear in the trainers list with a 'new' badge making it easier for you to distinguish between new trainers and existing trainers. 

To edit an existing trainer role, simply click the edit button displayed on the trainer you want to edit. 

Advanced permissions

*This section is only relevant to users on the Pro, Extend, or Enterprise plans

As mentioned previously, roles are created using a combination of permissions; share, create, teach, enrol, invite, and configure. When you apply a role, e.g. the creator role, the user is given the share and create permission on the entire workspace. This means they can share and create content belonging to any resource folder in the workspace. 

What if you only wanted to give a user the ability to create and share resources in just one resource folder? This is where advanced permissions come into play. Coassemble allows administrators to apply permissions across 3 levels that form a hierarchy of permissions that cascade down through each level.

These 3 levels are: 

  1. Workspace-level (top - everything in the workspace)
  2. Resource folder-level (middle - a resource folder and all the resources in it)
  3. Resource-level (bottom - an individual resource; course, lesson, quiz etc.)

Because permissions cascade down, applying a permission at the workspace-level means that it is automatically applied to the resource-folder-level, and the resource-level.  If you apply a permission on the resource-level only, then this user will only have permission on the individual resource, and nothing else in the resource folder, or any other resource folder. 

Using advanced permissions with trainers

To access advanced permissions, click on a trainer from the trainers tab. This will bring up the trainers profile. 

Click the 'Edit' button on the top-right-hand corner of the screen. This reveals a dropdown selector that allows you to apply the role to the entire workspace or on a selected resource folder. Selecting the resource folder option will reveal a list of all of the resource folders. Click on the '+' button to expand the resource folder to reveal individual resources. 

If you choose to apply a permission outside of the pre-defined roles, their role will be expressed as a custom role. 

There may be some cases where you decide you only want to apply a single permission for a user at the workspace-level. You can do this by following the instructions above, but by checking/unchecking the checkboxes on the workspace-level. If you do this, then the users' role will be expressed as the permission you've chosen. The example below illustrates a user with only the teach permission on the workspace. This user will be able to review all the results, mark all assignments, and preview all resources on the workspace. However, unlike the facilitator role, they will not be able to enroll any learners into courses or groups. 


Did this answer your question?