There are many reasons why you may want to move a learner from one group to another, but you may be hesitant to do so because you're worried about losing the learner's progress. As groups are simply a way of organizing your learners, transferring them from one group to another will not have any negative effects on the learners tracking data.

The simplest way to transfer a learner is to remove that learner from their current group, and re-enroll them into the new group. Your learner's data automatically be transferred from one group to another. So here is what you'll need to do:

  1. From the Groups tab in the Users section, create a new 'destination' group and give it a distinctive name so you don't mix it up with the old group.

  2. Add the required courses to that new group. If the learner previously completed/progressed through any courses, they will need to be re-enrolled into that course, so adding it to the group will ensure their progress moves with them

  3. Add the group trainers (give them teach or teach + enroll permission)

  4. From the Learners tab in the Users section, click on the learner's name and make sure the learner is not enrolled in the same course twice (via individual enrollment and groups).


    ⚠️ If you move a learner from one group to another but that learner is still enrolled to some courses some other way, it could result in reporting data display issues!


  5. From the Learners tab, click on Groups, and click into the Group the learner is in. You'll land on the Learner section and from there, hover over the learner you want to remove. (You may need to zoom out to see it - Command or Window + +)


    You'll see a red circle appear, click on that, and then choose "remove from group."

    ⚠️ If you don't want learners to be notified when you move them from one group to another, make sure to turn off the option to Send notifications to learners when: they are removed from a course. You can do that from the settings inside a course, or from the workspace settings from your main dashboard.

  6. Once you've unenrolled the learner, open the group you want them added to click on "add learner" > then choose them from the dropdown. You could also stay on the Groups tab and click the plus sign next to that new group. See both shown below:


    If you have more than one learner to add, you can select multiple at a time using either method shown above.

That's it! You can now check out the Course report to confirm that the data has been moved over correctly.

If you have any questions about this, reach out to us in the Live Chat!

Did this answer your question?